CAMO Software
制药

开发一个新分子的成本预计已达到 10 亿美元,专利也纷纷到期,非专利药物制造商之间的竞争日益加剧,低成本制造业国家强势崛起,处于制药行业价值链中的所有厂商都面临着降低成本的空前压力。与此同时,许多发展中国家涌现出越来越多的中产阶级,而欧美国家则面临着人口老化的问题,科技的飞速发展也为这一行业带来巨大的商机。

制药行业和生物制药业的生产过程包括从原材料识别和特征确定、中间物的化学品制造、制造步骤到含量均匀度的测量。此外,美国 FDA、欧盟和其他管制机构都已发出指引,针对 21 世纪良好生产规范以及产品开发周期内的流程分析技术重点作出了规定。

从开发到生产,整个产品生命周期内的制药厂商都可以使用多变量分析工具,包括:

药物开发

药物开发的平均时间估计为四年左右,而制药公司必须找到方法来缩短这一时间,以便抢在竞争对手之前将新药推向市场。在药物开发的整个周期中,每年需要投入的研究费用大约为 8000 万美元。如果能够通过高通量分析缩短这一时间,再配合最先进的多变量分析,则有助于更快速、更科学的推出新药。

临床试验

新药开发的第二个阶段是临床试验。此阶段在开发周期中将耗时 7 年,是一个旷日持久的阶段。迄今为止,多变量方法在临床试验数据上的利用仍然不足,但是 L-PLS 等方法的利用使数据分析师不但能够捕获关于药物疗效的传统病患信息,还能将人口和病患历史记录结合到模型中,从而提供关于药物作用的整体情况以及可能对人口和社会状况产生的任何影响。多变量分析工具为临床试验统计员提供了必要的信息,用于确定某些目标人群并更好地了解新药对各类人群的作用,并形成更科学的风险导向方法以完成更出色的试验。设计实验的使用也是成功的临床试验的一个关键方面。

注册

可以使用多变量分析的工具来提供关于药物疗效和作用的有力证据。药物注册在开发周期中所占的时间约为 2 年,而详尽的数据则有助于缩短这一时间。

产品或流程质量的实时测量

使用先进的控制技术进行实时测量对关键流程参数 (CPP) 进行在线预测和分类,而对关键质量属性 (CQA) 影响最大的就是这些参数。这样就能完成流程标记图的定义,也就是流程应该采用怎样的步骤才能达到所需的产品状态。如果检测到偏差,则可以在设计空间内对流程进行实时调整,以使流程重新回到受控状态,进而保持高质量。如果能够实时进行测量,则还能减少制造中的延迟情况,因为无需执行脱机分析即可将物料发布至下一运营单位;同时,这样还能将废料和能源消耗降至最低,从而允许制造商优化设备的利用率,并在不扩充厂房的情况下提高产能。

流程分析技术 (PAT) 和质量源于设计 (QbD)

以流程为中心的质量控制方法从早期设计阶段开始(也就是回溯到药物开发和配制),并持续到产品的整个生命周期。通过使用 PAT 工具,特别是在 PAT 框架指导中将多变量分析隔离出来作为一种了解流程的重要工具则可减少法规监管方面的问题。产品和流程的实时预测及分类使制造商朝着加强流程和产品控制的目标更进了一步,同时也指明了实施持续改进方案的方向。

流程验证

三批式验证步骤的时代已经过去,因为它无法持续监控高品质药物生产的流程性能。现在看来,使用现代分析技术和科学的风险导向方法执行持续检验和流程验证才是未来的主流。此处的关键在于执行制药质量体系 (PQS) 制定的多变量模型,该体系可以捕获实时数据、检测偏差,并且允许制造商使用获取的数据作出改进。在此之前,需要遵照 ICH Q8、Q9 和 Q10 的指导原则来实现“定义、设计分析、实施改进”的理念。

作为 MVA 行业的先驱,我们的软件已在制药和生物制药行业经历了 25 年多的试验和测试,无论是大型创新公司还是中小型非专利药物制造商均已广泛采用。我们的解决方案提供了先进的分析和预测功能,使用起来也极为简单方便,并且能够按照您的特定需求灵活调整。

联系我们的某位制药行业专家,了解我们可以提供哪些帮助或者申请软件功能的免费演示

CAMO Software
Pharmaceutical

Pharmaceuticals & Biotech


With the cost of developing a new molecule estimated to have reached $1 billion, expiring patents, increasing competition among generics manufacturers and the growing power of low-cost manufacturing countries, almost all players in the pharmaceutical value chain are facing unprecedented pressures to reduce costs. At the same time, a growing middle class in many developing nations, an aging demographic across the western world, and rapid advances in technology offer massive opportunities for the industry.

Pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical manufacturing includes products from raw material identification and characterization, chemical manufacture of intermediates, and manufacturing steps to the measurement of content uniformity. Moreover, the US FDA, European Union and other regulatory bodies have issued guidelines with a focus on Good Manufacturing Practices for the 21st Century and process analytical technology throughout the product development lifecycle.

Multivariate analysis tools can be used by pharmaceutical manufacturers across the entire product lifecycle from development through to production, including:

Drug Discovery

With the average time of drug discovery estimated to be four years, pharmaceutical companies must find ways of reducing this time in order to bring new discoveries to market before their competition. Each year of discovery results in approximately 80 million dollars of research effort in the overall scheme of development. Being able to reduce this time with high throughput analysis coupled with state of the art multivariate analysis will help realize new drugs in a faster and more scientifically understood way.

Clinical trials

The second stage of new drug development is clinical trials. This stage accounts for 7 years in the development cycle and is by far the most time consuming. Multivariate methods have been relatively underutilized to date for clinical trial data, but the use of methods such as L-PLS allow data analysts to not only capture traditional patient information on drug efficacy, but also allow the incorporation of demographic and patient history into the model to provide an overall picture of the drugs action and also any effects that may be related to demographic and social status information. Multivariate analysis tools offer the clinical trials statistician the necessary tools for targeting certain groups and better understanding the action of new drugs on a variety of people and may lead to more scientific, risk based approaches to better trials. The use of Designed Experiments is also a key aspect of good clinical trials.

Registration

The tools of multivariate analysis can be used to provide compelling evidence of drug efficacy and action. Any further data can help reduce the time for drug registration, which currently accounts for approximately 2 years in the development lifecycle.

Real-time measurement of product or process quality

Real-time measurements using advanced control techniques facilitate online prediction and classification of critical process parameters (CPP’s) that most influence critical quality attributes (CQA’s). This allows the definition of the process signature, i.e. the path a process should take to lead to the desired state of the product. If deviations are detected, the process can be adjusted in real-time within the design space to bring the process back into a state of control, and hence maintaining quality. The ability to make measurements in real-time can also reduce delays in manufacturing as materials can be released to the next unit operation without the need for off-line analysis and can also minimize waste and energy consumption allowing a manufacturer to optimize equipment usage and increase production without factory expansion.

Process Analytical Technologies (PAT) & Quality by Design (QbD)

A process centric approach to quality starts at the early design stages (right back to drug discovery and formulation) of the process and continues throughout the entire life-cycle of a product. The use of PAT tools and in particular multivariate analysis has been isolated in the PAT framework guidance as being a vital tool for gaining process understanding, which therefore leads to less regulatory oversight. Real-time prediction and classification of products and processes brings manufacturers one step closer to mastering their process and product control and also points to ways of implementing continuous improvement initiatives.

Process Validation

Gone are the days of three batch validation procedures that cannot continuously monitor the performance of a process for manufacturing quality drug products. Continuous verification and process validation using modern analysis technology and scientific, risk based approaches are now seen as the future. Multivariate models are key here in defining a Pharmaceutical Quality System (PQS), which captures real time data, detects deviations and allows a manufacturer to use the data obtained to improve. This follows the philosophy Define, Design Analyse, Implement Improve through the guiding principles of ICH Q8, Q9 and Q10.

As pioneers in MVA, our software has been tried and tested in the pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical sectors for over 25 years, used by both large innovator companies through to small and mid-sized generics manufacturers. Our solutions offer the power of advanced analysis and predictions but are elegantly simple and easy to use, with the flexibility and adaptability to meet your specific needs.

Contact one of our dedicated pharmaceutical domain experts to find out how we can help with your developments or for a free demonstration of our software capabilities.

Media partners

Pharmaceutical Online
BioProcess Online